Autumn

~Sept. 21, 2002~

Which Season are you?

How fitting that my favorite season is also the one that comes up on a quiz. Though I don't think the bit on the image fits. That's not what autumn is to me.

.

.

.

.

So what is autumn to me? I don't know fully. It's neither the years of youth, nor is it the years of age. Neither growth or death. But somehow it's a very poignant season, both in nature and in our lives. Though there's never really a newness with Autumn, there's still something about it that puts a spring in your step.

The other day, I walked out of Mary's house, and took a few steps. As I breathed in, something started niggling at the back of my mind. After a couple steps, I realized what it was. There was the unmistakeable smell of a fireplace being used!

I stopped, tilted my head a bit, closed my eyes and remembered what it was like back home, and I could almost believe I was there. That if I opened my eyes, I'd see not the concrete of the forest that is known as Naples, but the trees out behind my old house, their leaves vibrant shades of green, gold, orange, maroon, the wind rustling through their branches. I could almost smell the crisp air, ever so slightly tinged with the first bite of winter. I could almost taste the fresh made spiced pumpkin pie, draped with Cool Whip that we always had. It was a moment I wanted to savor for as long as I could, so I stood there, eyes closed, just enjoying it for a few more minutes. And when I finally had to move, it was with a deep sigh of regret that I did so.

I miss autumn deeply. Autumn is as much a part of who I am as anything else. I thrive in Autumn. Perhaps that's why I am Autumn...

~0 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell