And so it begins...

~Dec. 15, 2002~

Well, after a couple of seriously heinous days, Frank is here. And already my nerves are shot all to hell and back. He always seems to find some way to screw me over. Don't know how he does it, but he does.

This whole trip even started off badly. He didn't even ask when would bee good for me for him to come visit, just made the plans and that was that. Of course, he didn't even have the flight back until I told him that either I see a scanned copy of his itinerary, or I wasn't picking him up from the airport... How terribly ironic... So it all started off with him informing me that he'd be here for 24 days. Gods above, 24 days...

Than he tries to tell me that we have to take some day trips, like we're going to play the happy little family unit. Yea, um, NO! I let him know that wasn't going to happen. He can go where he wants, but he'll have to rent a car, and go on my days off so I can be with the boys.

Than the day he's supposed to get here arrives. No biggie... His flight was supposed to be in at 10, which was decent timing. Boys would still be nicely awake, not hungry for lunch, or cranky for a nap. Traffic and parking would be the only issues. And they didn't even turn out to be bad. Found a spot right off the bat right up front. Unload the boys, get inside and go to the bathroom, and I get paged to go to the information desk. Figure he's waiting for me there, so no big rush. I couldn't have been more wrong...

A message was waiting for me. He'd missed the flight and would be on the 2 o'clock flight. Which was really bad timing. Boys would have been woken up from a nap and pissed, bread would have to wait to be put in the oven, traffic and parking, and it was starting to mess with plans for the evening as well.

On the way home we get stuck in traffic, just at the edge of one of the tunnels, which made my skin crawl and my hands shake. Boys started getting pissy. Things just went down hill from there.

All in all, he ended up missing 3, yes 3 flights that day, left me with no one to watch the boys on Saturday since my sitter had already left for vacation with her family, disrupted the boys schedule completely, put me in traffic 5 times, made me waste gas and money waiting for him, and just basically throughly pissed me off. So when he finally did get here, he stayed in the airport overnight.

Chris and Kim said that the boys could just sleep there, since they were already asleep by the time I was going to leave...Wait, lemme back up...

About 5 Frank called to let me know he'd be on the 5:20 flight, so he'd be in Naples at around 7, so to pick him up at 7:15. Well, Survivor starts at 8, so there wouldn't be enough time to get him, get him and the boys home and back to Kim's by than, so I told him I'd pick him up after it was over. He didn't like that idea, and started to try and say something, than just hung up on me. He than called back not 5 minutes later to let me know he's missed the flight. Next one was at 9-ish, so he'd call to let me know if he'd make that one.

9 came and went. No call. Than 9:30, no call. 10:00, and still nothing. By 10:30 I was having a mild nervous breakdown in the dining room because of all the stress that had been built up from him, the excersize, the holidays, all of it. And Chris said that the boys could stay there, and they'd watch them in the morning. I was sent home with Craig, told to get some rest while and that they'd worried about the boys.

Got home and there was a message that Frank was at the airport, luggage was lost though, and could I come get him. I turned off the answering machine, turned off the ringer and went to bed.

Got to work yesterday morning to messages on both sides that he was there and they were trying to find me. I told Sean, the flight line forecaster on duty what was going on, and he said he had a whole new respect for me. I didn't pick him up until around 9:15, than off to get the boys.

And wouldn't you know it, Craig was there. Yea, that was a meeting I really didn't want happening any time soon. And found out later that Craig hadn't wanted it to happen that soon either. Hell, I'd rather it not have happened at all. Now, when the boys start asking for Craig, Frank will be able to start figuring out the 2+2=4 of it all, and than he'll start asking. And when I tell him it's none of his business, he'll get nasty. I know this, because I know him. And that was something I didn't want to happen.

He tried to hug me and I shoved him away. It made my skin crawl like you wouldn't believe. Ya know, it's amazing how you can care about someone enough that you want to spend your life with them, but than when they burn you badly enough, you are totally repulsed by their very presence. Yea, that's Frank and I.

He started talking about the things we could do and I had to stop him. Told him that I thought he might want to take a shower when the boys were napping, and he could wash his skanky clothes while hanging out in a towel since I wouldn't be there. He asked where I'd be and I told him that as soon as the boys were napping, I was leaving again. This is what followed...

"What? You're the only one I know here. You can't just pick me up and dump me off."

"Watch me."

"That's messed up, Heather."

"Frank, don't try to pull that with me, it won't work anymore."

...silence...

"But you're the only one I know here."

"Frank, you're not here to see me. You're here to see the boys. Period. I've had them for the last 2 and a half years. You'll be lucky to see me for 5 minutes a day."

...silence...

"But what about going to Rome?"

"You can go. Rent a car and have a good time. But I'm not going with you, and neither are the boys."

"Why not?"

"Frank, you just had a car accident. You yourself have just told me that driving and cars in general make you nervous. And you want to take 2 3 year olds, put them in the back of a rental to go to Rome in a country you've never been to, with driver's that are completely insane? You'd be asking to have another accident, and that's just not something either of us needs or wants right now."

...silence...

...he sighed...

"Good point."

We didn't talk much after that, until we got to the apartment. Than when I was giving the tour and explaining some stuff...

"You're telling me things like you're not gonna be around..."

"I'm not."

"Oh."

So we got to the boys room, which is next to mine, and my door was closed.

"That your room?"

"Yes."

"Can I see it?"

"No."

"Why not?"

"Because there's nothing in there for you."

...silence...

Than, when the boys fell asleep, and he got in the shower, I left. Came back after he'd fallen asleep, and left this morning before he woke up. I konw there will be times when I'll have to be subjected to his presence, like on Tuesday we have to get food, but if I don't have to be, I don't want to be around. He's got the numbers where to contact me, he can call if something happens to the boys. Other than that...

.

.

.

.

23 days, and counting...

~3 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell