"A librarian?"

~Jul. 08, 2003~

Well, in an interesting turn of events, so to speak, J and I are sitting at dinner the other night, and he says...,

�Know what would be a good job for you?�

�Hmmm� around a mouth full of chicken.

�A librarian.�

I immediately have this image of Evie in The Mummy, when she�s drunk and proudly proclaims �I�am a librarian!� than promptly passes out. Followed quickly thereafter by the scene in which she topples all the bookcases.

�A librarian?�

�Yea. You�d be around books, you could read all day, and you�d get paid for it. It�s perfect.�

�A librarian?�

This was followed by a short discussion on how if you love what you do, you�ll have a happier life because you won�t wake up and dread the day due to work. Than also followed by another brief discussion about a couple jobs I had working in different libraries when I was younger. All this lead to me thinking about Amy and the time when we got that huge shipment of books in at the library. That�s really one of my best memories of time spent with her...

And when I�ve mentioned this to other people, they seem to have a really easy time seeing me as a librarian. Casie said that as soon as I mentioned it the image of me, behind a desk with �cute librarian glasses� popped in her head and that it was me. I�ll have to see what my mom says about it.

So now I�m actually looking this up. Having never heard of a Library Science degree I�ll at least learn what that is, thus giving me a new wrinkle in my brain. And if it turns out to be something that I�m interested in, well, that�s even better.

The thing is, though, is everything I�m reading says that you have to have a Master�s degree. Who would have ever thought that you had to have a Master�s just to be a librarian? Certainly not me. And that idea is just so daunting� That�s a lot of school work, a lot of time, a lot of energy and a lot of money to put towards something that you�re not even partially sure of.

But than I�ve not really been sure of anything that I want to do when I get out. I just don�t want to be in the Navy anymore. And I can�t just sit around the house when I get out. Sure, that�ll be great for a couple months, finally being able to take the serious break from working, than get back in to something. I also don�t think I could do the whole stay at home mom thing either. But than since you can�t really only have one income nowadays, that�s not really an option, is it?

Oh, sure, J�s wonderful. He�s already said that he �plans on making enough� so that me working is an option, but I�m just not sure I could do that. I�d end up sitting on my ass all day eating junk food and end up being royally depressed.

So I guess with 2 years left in I�d really better figure out what I want to do/be when I grow up. Any suggestions?

~1 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell