The birth of Katryne inghean Domnaill

~Saturday, Jun. 15, 2002~

Well, the last couple of days have been interesting, no doubt. And it actually started a bit before that...

A few days back I started looking into the possibility of there being an SCA group here. I was pleasantly surprised to find out there actually was. So I emailed the contact email just asking some basic questions. I got 2 emails in response yesterday morning. :)

The first was simply a copy of an informationaly one sent to the Stronghold. The second was in response to mine. Asking what I was interested in, if I was a fighter, possibly being offered an officer position, and discussing a few things coming up, a coronation later this month in England, can't go to that, rotten luck, 12th night in Jan being here, and Mistress Treymane coming down to Naples on weekends, as well as a couple contact numbers.

So I called the woman, and we talked for a bit, and she invited me along on her outings with Mistress Treymane today, whom, if I remember correctly, is the Kingdon's Herald, but don't quote me on that as I had it wrong in the first place... :p Unfortunately they were going to the Archeological Museum, and the boys wouldn't do so well there, so I had to pass. I do hope I get to meet her, though. That would be nice.

So, yesterday at work, after all the messages were done and out, and everyone had left for the day, I started seriously looking at the SCA concept of the persona. And, I started to look into the creation of one. They had some good resources on the page, and I did a couple searches, and looked at names from aroun 1350-1600, found a couple I liked, looked into them further, and found one that I really liked. Katryne.

It's documented as being a varient of Katherine, and was used, in that form, between 1500-1530 around Aberdeen Scotland. It also has the nickname Katte associated with it, which I think it rather neat as well. So, I had found the given name. On to the byname or surname.

This one was actually a bit harder. Turned out that in that region, and during that period, they were mostly using bynames, which were some sort of discriptive "surname", and had just begun using fixed surnames. Well, as luck would have it, my family name is actually documented back to 1408 in the same region, East borderlands to England, so was valid for the time and region. I just wasn't sure if I wanted to use it though. So I kept looking.

Now, for females, I discovered that the byname was usually a possessive one, showing them as the "daughter of" her father, with her father refered to by his given name. So I started looking into that. Problem was, I didn't like most of the male names. :p So I ended up finding one that had the proper tense and form, from the same time frame, so I'm using that. Thus, Katryne inghean Domnaill was born this morning, well, a few hours ago, and as long as the Herald has the proper documentation of the names, and no one else in the SCA has it, that will be my SCA name. *grins* Pretty cool, huh?

I haven't developed the character, but that's going to be the next step, and should actually be rather fun. I figure she'll have actually lived closer to the 1400's, so that she'd have possible known John's character, but since I don't know much about that one, looks like I need to pick his brain a bit more too. Especially since I do have a few loose ideas for Katte, but if they don't work well with his, than I'll scrap them. :p This, of course, being if he doesn't mind.

Oh, and I've got the perfect birthday present for him too! I know he's gonna tell me I shouldn't have, and, considering I don't know where to send it, I probably shouldn't have, but who cares? I had to get it, and it was the only one... *grins*

~0 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell