Sacred Space

~Feb. 18, 2003~

Pagan Speak Topic#2: Sacred Space

What exactly is sacred space? Why or when does one need to create it? How do you create sacred space? Share with us an formal or informal ways that you create sacred space. Circle casting can be very formal or very simple (with all the gradations in between). If you do so, when do you do a formal cast; when do you do a simple cast? Please share with us the different ways you cast a circle.

Sacred space is something I think everyone, regardless of religious preference, practice, or nonpractice has, even if they do not realize, or recognize it as such. To me, sacred space is an area where a ritual, mundane or magical, is preformed. To me, that means that someone that has a set way of doing things when they get up in the bathroom has a sacred space of the bathroom for the duration of the ritual. That�s the more mundane aspect of it.

For the more magical purposes, it�s much the same, though usually there will be something in the space that designates it as such. For me, mine is an area in my bedroom that has my alter and meditation cushions. This is where the focus of my spirituality is seated. This is where I will cast a spell, most times, as well as where I will make offerings to my Ladies and Lords.

When meditating, I don�t do anything additional to the space, and more often than not, even when talking with the Netjr I don�t. Come to think of it, very rarely do I actually �cast a circle�. Since finding the Kemetic path, I think I�ve done that a handful of times, and those where when a Wiccan was with me and requested it. There was one time, though, when I had been plagued by nightmares, and was asking for Aset and Ausir especially, to help take them away. That night I did cast a circle, but it actually encompassed the whole room so that I could sleep. When I did that, I addressed the four cardinal compass points, starting in the West, where Ausir has dominion, moving counter-clockwise through the remaining three, to force out whatever negative energy was there, than back to West, addressing Ausir again, asking Him to prevent entrance to my dreams. I left the circle, letting it dissipate on it�s own through the night.

When I�m doing wards and such on my house, I will cast a circle around the entirety of it, starting in the East, and moving clockwise through back to North than finally East again. Those are the only times when I�ve actively cast circles to created a more pronounced sacred space.

~0 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell