School memories.

~Sept. 23, 2002~

This is my first effort at collaborative journaling, so I hope you enjoy it.

When you think back about your first days of school, what is it that you remember the most?

I don't remember much of my childhood, as I've blocked it out. Most wasn't that great, so the memories I do have are really quite scattered, fragmented and odd. This includes the memories I have of school. One of the few things I do remember is Michael Lovelace.

Michael was my first boyfriend, though I'm not really sure if you can really have a boyfriend in 1st grade. Was it first? Maybe it was second... Either way, far too young to be going out with someone.

Michael had blonde hair and blue eyes. That's all I remember about how he looked. And I don't have a clue how we got together, but we did. At lunch and recess we were inseperable. We always ate together, and played together. When we walked around, we'd either hold hands, or he'd have an arm slung around my shoulders. I even vaguely remember him giving me my first kiss. (I've since been told that a teacher caught us, and told us that was wrong, so we told her we were just sharing some gum. The things kids will think up.)

I don't remember much more of him than that. I think we moved shortly there after, and I've never seen him again.

Oh! I also remember that my 1st grade teacher was named Mrs. Johnson, and we all hated her. She was old to us kids, had greyish hair, and it was always in a bun. Very tight. She was mean, too. I don't even think the adults liked her much.

My next memory of school isn't until 5th grade, I think. We're in Georgia, Ft. Gordon to be exact, and I had done poorly on a test. Failed it, actually. And the teacher sent it home with me to have my mom sign it. I was devastated. Not about failing it, but that I knew I would disappoint my mom, and that has always been something I don't like doing.

So I forged her signature. Not the brightest idea, but I figured I'd get away with it. How wrong I was. Not only did the teacher realise what I'd done, he took it upon himself to punish me. And, he called my mom. When she got to the school, I was standing in the trashcan next to his desk, balling. When my mom saw that, boy was she PISSED!

Right there, in front of the whole class, she went off on him. Started accusing him of child abuse for such cruel punishment, how he could have scarred me for life, how he wasn't fit to be a teacher, let alone of such impressionable young children, and on and on and on.

Most things after that are quite a bit clearer, and better connected. Those really are the first two things I remember about school.

Oh, once again, I remember something else... My 4th grade teacher was named Mrs. Drapue, and I loved her. She turned me on to reading, though I don't know with what. And I also remember getting a score of 104 on a science test concerning the planets. The 4 points were the extra credit, which, in all honesty, I cheated on that bit. Funny, I get all the test questions right, but cheated on the extra credit...

~0 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell