Labels, definitions and religion don't mix

~Jul. 02, 2003~

There are new Pagan Speak topics out for July and I�ll write one for them later this month. This is one that I really wanted to write but like the stupid moronic procrastinating idiot that I am I put it off rather than just sitting down and writing. So I�m doing it now...

Topic #2 : How do you define your spiritual path? (thanks to Nicole)

How do you define your spiritual path? Or do you find labels and definitions too limiting in expressing you and/or your path? We all have read the various definitions of various religions and other types of spirituality, but how do you define it?

Labels and definitions are very limiting when it comes to spirituality. They�re also very dangerous. I honestly don�t think that anyone will ever fit fully in to the definition of any religion. I know that I don�t. If I were to try I would be a Kemetic Wiccan Witch.

But even that�s not right. I have beliefs that are fully and wholly Kemetic and some that just aren�t. Like reincarnation. And that the Moon is more of a feminine energy than a masculine, or that the Earth is feminine.

I�ve never been able to accept the Three Fold Law. It�s always felt more like a balance to me, and in Kemet, that�s really what it is. Ma�at strives to maintain a balance of both positive and negative, rather than what seems like an inherently lopsided scale of thrice returned. The final judgement upon Her scales is when the balance is weighed and your soul judged.

At this point it also brings in another clash of my beliefs with those of an Orthodox Kemetic. According to the text, if a person�s soul is out of balance the soul is fed to the Devourer and the person is damned. Actually, to say that I clash there isn�t fully correct, as I�m really torn. I can accept that if the soul is out of balance that there is a reprimand needed, but I don�t think that it�s damnation. I believe it�s reincarnation, which isn�t a Kemetic belief. It�s more Eastern religion oriented.

At the same time I know beyond any doubt that my Ladies are Egyptian. And Ancient Egyptian at that. I know it�s Aset that has placed Her hands on me and claimed me as Her�s. That Ma�at has placed Her scales in my heart and head and claimed me as well. That it�s Heru that guards my children when Aset is with me. That it�s Djehuty that guides my hand and head to learn more and grow.

My spiritual path is more Egyptian than anything and it�s more Ancient Egyptian than modern. It always has been. But that doesn�t mean that it always will be. I�m sure that as I grow and learn it will evolve and change as well.

~1 Comments?~



~Previous ~ Next~



Did you miss something? Check and see...

Where I went
Just a shortie
Unconscious Mutterings for 19 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 11 Jan 04
Unconscious Mutterings for 04 Jan 04

All writing presented within these pages is copyright � Heather A. Boothby. Click here to read how this page is protected by copyright laws.

Who to see...

Amberlaine
Bellacrow
Bellaluna
Ben
Beth
Boutish
Broomcloset
Casie
Danse
Devotions
Drisel
Dsylvan
HerbGurl
Irishwitchyone
Isiserin
Limen
Luminosity
Lunablossom
Megan
Raevyn
Rain
Ravens-tears
Siren
TheBirdWoman
Torn Soul


Where to go...

Warning!
Current
Past
Random
Collaborative Entries
Rules for Living

Forums
Diagon Alley
Kemet Online
If�
Samsara

Miscellaneous
Ageless Project
Diaryland
Moon Phase
Reading Request
Those Who Read Me

My Stuff
...Quizzes
...Rings
...Tarot Decks
...Weather
...Writings
Stats

Clix Me
Nedstats
Site Meter


What to do...

Collaborative Journalism
Dear X
Pagan Speak
[ Previous | Next | Random | List ]
Random Acts of Journaling
Witches Weekly
DiaryZine

< ? Redhead Blogs # >

Everything else...


Female/26-30. Lives in Italy/Naples, speaks English. Eye color is blue-grey. I am what my mother calls


My Bloginality is ESFP!!!



The Weather in Hell